2006 Fall Gala
was held
Saturday, October 14, 2006


The Huntington Library Art Collections and Botanical Gardens
1151 Oxford Road, San Marino, CA 91103

Keynote Speaker was
Newbery Award Winning Author


Children's Literature Council
Award Winners celebrated at the Fall Gala:

"Distinguished Work of Fiction Award"

by Valerie Hobbs
Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2005

Presented by Kay Driscoll


"Excellence in a Picture Book Award "
Hula Lullaby

by Erin Eitter Kono
Little, Brown, 2005
Presented by Roger Kelly




"Outstanding Informational Book for Teens Award"
Surfer Girl

by Sanoe Lake and Steven Jarrett
Little, Brown, 2005
Presented to Steven Jarrett by CLC Board Member Shawn Thrasher



"Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry"
Things Left Unsaid

by Stephanie Hemphill
Hyperion, 2005
Presented by CLC Book Award Committee Member Susanne Peterson




"Dorothy c. McKenzie Award"
for Distinguished Contribution to the Field of Children's Literature

Jody Fickes Shapiro

Presented by CLC President
Melinda Steep





The Speaker

Newbery Award Winner Avi shares passages from his novels with the Fall Gala Guests.

The Guests

CLC Book Award Winner Stephanie Hemphill (Things Left Unsaid) and CLC Book Award Committee Member, Susanne Peterson


CLC Book Award Winner Steven Jarrett (Surfer Girl) and
CLC Board Member Shawn Thrasher


CLC Board Member Kay Driscoll
and Jennifer Driscoll


Melissa M. and Treisa Cassens
Book Award Winner Erin Eitter Kono (Hula Lullaby) and guest.


Cara Sagal and Claudette Brown


Erin Rische and Denice Neujar
CLC Board Member Helen Overstreet and Wanna Zinsmaster


Lucy Molina and
CLC Board Member Cathy Ryne
Kathryn Rosker, Claudia Harrington,
and Jim Hemphill


Annick Downhower, Joyce Hegeman, and Betty Kahn
Gina Loring, Sharon Nagel and guest


Janice Shelby and Helen Rogaway
Susan Campbell and Amy Paino


Vicki Afram and Jan Young


Lucy Salvado and guest
Lisa Siegal and guest


Karen Ewen and Lisbeth Solberg
Maida Wong and Marguerite Raybould
Diane and Carol Raby


Brigitta Lopez, Padmini Prabhakar,
and Gail Kim
Jeaneane Dominey and Kristine Russell


Erin Eitter Kono
Steven Jarrett
Valerie Hobbs, Erin Eitter Kono and Stephanie Hemphill