2019 CLCSC Awards

Excellence in a Picture Book
Anne Bollman
Help Find Frank by Anne Bollman
Anne Bollman
Help Find Frank
Sterling Children's Books, 2018



"Excellence in a Work of Juvenile Fiction"
Marie Miranda Cruz
Everlasting Nora by Marie Miranda Cruz
Marie Miranda Cruz
Everlasting Nora
Starscape, 2018



"Outstanding Work of Creative Non-Fiction"
Sally Deng
Skyward: The Story of Female Pilots of WWII
Sally Deng
Skyward: The Story of Female Pilots of WWII
Flying Eye Books, 2018



"Peggy Miller Award for Young Adult Literature"

Dana Davis

Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now by Dana Davis
Dana L. Davis
Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now
Harlequin Teen, 2018



"Dorothy C. McKenzie Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of Children's Literature"
Lee Wardlaw

Lee Wardlaw
Author and Poet

For Her Work after the California Wildfires
From collecting donations of books, to transporting them herself all the way from Santa Barbara to Paradise, CA in an RV, Lee Wardlaw embodies true youth advocacy. She saw a literary need for the children of Paradise and their families, and took upon herself to fill that need, with creativity, compassion and drive. In doing so, she helped recreate something for the children that they had lost in the Paradise fires; a sense of normalcy, escape and community.

An article by Jason Boog in Publishers' Weekly, April 16, 2019 tells the whole story: "Donations Help Rebuild Libraries in Paradise, Calif."  






































The Children's Literature Council of Southern California is a professional organization of librarians, teachers, authors, and illustrators creating a community that honors and promotes children's and young adult literature.


Facebook   Twitter


  Awards - Peggy Miller Award for   Young Adult Literature

Each year, at the Fall Gala, the Council is pleased to present awards to Southern California authors, illustrators, poets, or contributors of excellence to the field of Children's Literature. This award was created by the Council in 2007 to honor the memory of Peggy Miller, a high school librarian and member of the Board of Directors of the Children's Literature Council. It is given periodically in recognition of an outstanding book whose target audience is young adults.

Peggy Miller

Peggy Miller (d. 2006)

The Children's Literature Council established the Peggy Miller Young Adult Award to acknowledge her support and contributions to the review of the Young Adult genre.  It was first awarded in 2007.

In 1992, Dr. Marilyn Robertson presented the Dorothy C. McKenzie Award to Peggy Miller. At that time, Dr. Robertson said, "Peggy is a trailblazer - a leader - a one-woman network. She was instrumental in establishing libraries in the elementary schools in the LAUSD. She worked with the district staff to convert a space, get shelving put in, and purchase a core collection in school after school over an eighteen-year period. She was also instrumental in making sure that library media centers were included as part of the basic design of any new schools. Today, (1993), Los Angeles's over 400 elementary schools all have school library media centers.

"Peggy was Supervisor of library Services when the district authorized the use of federal funds to hire over ninety elementary teacher/librarians to provide a library instructional program in inner-city schools. She develped an evaluation process for books that involved librarians and teachers in schools. She became a mentor to others. She and her staff got a tremendous amount of information out to schools for ordering purposes - and all this before the advent of computers.

"Peggy also taught Children's Literature classes at USC for 16 years in addition to editing the Booklist for Elementary School Library media Centers, a core collection published and distributed state-wide. She was president of CASL during the time when this state school library organization and the state school media organization, CAEMAT, laid the groundwork for their merger into CMLEA. Peggy also served on the first California Young Reader medal Committee, helping to develop guidelines for our own state book award, the winners of which are decided by votes from children. She was one of the pioneering members of the Children's Literature Council (formerly, SCCLCYP) and a founding member of FOCAL, the support group of the Children's Literature Department of the Los Angeles Public Library.

"Peggy has served as president of SCCLCYP, FOCAL, LASLA, CASL (CMLEA) and has served on numerous ALA Committees including the Newbery/Caldecott, Notable Books, Reluctant Readers, and Best Books for Young Adults."

When accepting the Dorothy C. McKenzie Award, Peggy Miller said that she "believes that a librarian is a catalyst who brings book and child together."






Dena Davis

Dana L. Davis

Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now
(Harlequin Teen, 2018)

Tiffany Sly Lives Here Now by Dena Davis

Leigh Bardugo

Sara Kipin

Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin

Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic
(Imprint, 2017)

Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin
2017 Nicola Yoon

Nicola Yoon

The Sun is Also a Star
(Delacourt Press, 2016)

The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon
2016 Noelle Stevenson

Noelle Stevenson

(Harper Teen, 2015)

Nimona by Noelle Stevenson
2015 Isabel

Isabel Quintero

Gabi, A Girl in Pieces
(Cinco Puntos Press, 2014)

2014 Andrew Smith

Andrew Smith

(Simon & Schuster, 2013)

Simon & Schuster, 2013

Winger by Andrew Smith
2013 Carrie Arcos

Carrie Arcos

Out of Reach
(Simon & Schuster, 2012)

Out of Reach by Carrie Arcos
2012 Holly Goldberg Sloan

Holly Goldberg Sloan

I'll Be There
(Little, Brown, & Co., 2011)

I'll Be There by Holly Goldberg Sloan
2011 Neal Shusterman

Neal Shusterman

(Harper Teen, 2010)


Bruiser by Neal Shusterman
2010 Mary E. Pearson

Mary E. Pearson

The Miles Between
(Henry Holt, 2009)



The Miles Between by Mary E. Pearson
2009 Steve Kluger

Steve Kluger

My Most Excellent Year: A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins & Fenway Park
(Dial Books, 2008)

My Most Excellent Year: A Novel of Love, Mary Poppins & Fenway Park by Steve Kluger
2008 James St. James

James St. James

Freak Show
(Dutton Children's, 2007)

Freak Show by James St. James
2007 Dana Reinhardt

Dana Reinhardt

A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life
(Wendy Lamb Books, Random House Imprint, 2006)



A Brief Chapter in My Impossible Life by Dana Reinhardt