2018 CLCSC Awards

"Outstanding Picture Book Biography"
Michael Mahin
Michael Mahin
Muddy: The Story of Blues Legend Muddy Waters
Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 2017.
"Excellence in a Picture Book"
Dan Santat
After the Fall by Dan Santat
Dan Santat
After the Fall
Roaring Book Press, 2017.
"Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry"
Nikki Grime
One Last Word by Nikki Grimes
Nikki Grimes
One Last Word
Bloomsberry USA Childrens, 2017.
"Peggy Miller Award for Young Adult Literature"

Leigh Bardugo

Sara Kipin

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin
Leigh Bardugo and Sara Kipin
The Language of Thorns
Imprint, 2017.
*Notable Contributions to the Field of Nonfiction
Susan Goldman Rubin

Maya Lin: Thinking with Her Hands by Susan Goldman Rubin

The Quilts of Gee's Bend by Susan Goldman Rubin

Susan Goldman Rubin
Maya Lin: Thinking with Her Hands
Chronicle Books, 2017.
The Quilts of Gee's Bend
Harry N. Abrams, 2017.
"Dorothy C. McKenzie Award for Distinguished Service to the Field of Children's Literature"
Elizabeth Dragga for The Book Truck

Elizabeth Dragga
Founder and Executive Director - The Book Truck

From the official website of The Book Truck:
Elizabeth Dragga, "a former bookseller, librarian, and education advocate founded The Book Truck in 2011 in response to a lack of literacy outreach programming for teenagers.... The Book Truck increases literacy skills among foster care and low-income teens in order to break the cycle of poverty...Thousands of free books are gien every year to foster care and low income teens throughout Los Angeles.



The Children's Literature Council of Southern California is a professional organization of librarians, teachers, authors, and illustrators creating a community that honors and promotes children's and young adult literature.


Facebook   Twitter



Hit Counter

The Children’s Literature Council of Southern California, ID# 33-0047729, is a non-profit, charitable organization.  Contributions are tax deductible under Section 501(c)(3) of the Internal Revenue Code. The California Franchise Tax Board has defined the Council as a Charitable & Educational Corporation. Copies of determination letters and EIN forms are available upon request.



Javaka Steptoe

Radiant Child by Javaka Steptoe


2019 Fall Gala
Saturday, November 2, 2019
8:30 a.m. - 12:00 p.m.

Keynote Speaker
Javaka Steptoe

Javaka Steptoe is an eclectic young artist, designer, and illustrator, building a national reputation as an outstanding contributor to the genre of children’s literature. He is the 2017 recipient of the Randolph Caldecott Medal for Radiant Child, published by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers.

Utilizing everyday objects, from aluminum plates to pocket lint, and sometimes illustrating with a jigsaw and paint, he delivers reflective and thoughtful collage creations filled with vitality, playful energy, and strength. For Steptoe,  "...collage is a means of survival. It is how Black folks survived four hundred years of oppression, taking the scraps of life and transforming them into art forms."

As both an artist and educator, he challenges traditional notions of Black art, emphasizing the richness of a collective past through his use of family as a recurring theme and centerpiece. Steptoe explains, "I want my audience no matter what their background, to be able to enter into my world and make connections with comparable experiences in their own lives."

Luminarias Restaurant
3500 W. Ramona Blvd
Monterey Park, CA 91754


2018 Fall Gala Highlights

Michael Mahin
CLCSC Myra Cohn Livingston Award for Poetry recipient Nikki Grimes (left) and Keynote Speaker, Margarita Engle CLCSC Award Recipient Michael Mahin



Leah Santat Susan Goldman Rubin and Anush Balayan
Leah Santat accepted the CLCSC Award for her husband, Dan Santat CLCSC Award Winner Susan Goldman Rubin (left) and CLCSC Board Member, Anush Balayan



Nikki Grimes and Rachel Lizotte
Dorothy C. McKenzie Award Winner, Elizabeth Dragga (left) and CLCSC Board President, Jennifer Driscoll CLCSC Myra Cohn Livington Award for Poetry recipient, Nikki Grimes (left) and CLCSC Board Member, Rachel Lizotte